province of South Punjab

Accomplishment of the ‘big milestone’ in the development of the province

News News in Image

Qureshi declares the accomplishment of the ‘big milestone’ in the development of the province of South Punjab

Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi referred to the recent decision by the Punjab Government to name high-level bureaucrats to the South Punjab Secretariat as the “big milestone” in the development of the new province. This achievement testifies to our determination to fulfill our pledge to the citizens of Pakistan.

I congratulate the people of Southern Punjab and I thank my Prime Minister Imran Khan PTI for his vision and support,” he wrote on Twitter. A tweet from the Foreign Minister comes the day after the Punjab government made South Punjab’s civil secretariat work by naming 10 administrative secretaries.

According to the notification, Special Secretary for Health M Ajmal Bhatti was transferred and appointed as Secretary for Health South Punjab, additional Secretary for Finance Obaidullah Anwar as Secretary for Finance South Punjab, Shoaib Iqbal Syed, Program Director of the Punjab Resource Management Program (PRMP), as Secretary for Planning and Development (P&D) South Punjab.

Other appointments included Raja Khurram Shahzad, DG Provincial Disaster Management Authority (PDMA), Secretary of Local Government South Punjab, Liaquat Ali Chattha, OSD, Secretary of Housing South Punjab, Saqib Ali Ateel, Commissioner Punjab Revenue Authority (PRA) Multan, Secretary for Agriculture South Punjab, Aftab Ahmad Pirzada, additional Commissioner Bahawalpur, As South Punjab’s livestock and dairy production secretary and Naushin Malik, Bahawalpur ‘s development and finance chief as South Punjab ‘s services minister. Additional Chief Secretary Home Momin Agha was given the additional responsibility of Secretary Home South Punjab, Secretary of Law & Parliamentary Affairs Nazir Ahmad Gajan as Secretary of Law of South Punjab.

Earlier this month, FM Qureshi spoke about the development of the province of South Punjab, saying that initially two secretariats would be formed in Multan and Bahawalpur. Qureshi had said that two secretaries would be assigned to the secretariats, and that no file would go to Lahore for a decision.