Islamic Calendar 2021


Muslims throughout the globe follow an Islamic dating system for the purpose of their religious events known as Hijri Calendar / Islamic Calendar. This calendar is purely Lunar consisting of twelve months based on the movement of the moon.

These months start with the sight of a new moon and the length of the months is alternately 30 and 29 days exceptional of the last month which remains 30 days long for 11 years and varies only once in the 12th year i.e. become of 29 days. Comprising to a Solar year Lunar Islamic year falls 11 days short. Hence, the days of the year are counted either 354 or 355 in total.

The counting of Islamic time begins in 622 CE alike the Persian calendar when Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) migrated to Medina and the event is referred to as Hegira or Hijirah, accounting for the name Hijri calendar.

The calendar is based on the Qur’an (Surah IX, 36-37) and its proper observance is a sacred duty for Muslims. The Days of the Islamic Calendar run from sunset to sunset.

The twelve months’ names go in a sequence as,

  1. Muharram
  2. Safar
  3. Rabi al-Awwal
  4. Rabi al-Sani
  5. Jumada al-Ula
  6. Jumada al-Akhir
  7. Rajab
  8. Shaban
  9. Ramadan
  10. Shawwal
  11. Dhu al-Qadah
  12. Dhu al-Hijjah