WNBA playoffs 2021


News Sports

WNBA season 2021

The WNBA playoffs 2021 will start on Thursday, September 23. Tuesday, Oct. 19 is the latest potential date for a WNBA Finals game.

WNBA will celebrate its 25th season in 2021. The reigning champions are the Seattle Storm. Teams will play a 32-game season (rather than the 36 games agreed to in the 2020 offseason) with short two-game series to decrease travel due to the COVID-19 epidemic. The season lasted from May 14 to September 19, with a break for the Olympic Games from July 12 to August 11.

WNBA All-Star Game 2021

The WNBA All-Star Game 2021 was a basketball exhibition game held on July 14, 2021. For the second time, the WNBA All-Star Game will be held in Las Vegas. The WNBA had not staged an All-Star Game in four of the previous Summer Olympic years, thus this was the first time since 2000 that it was held in the same year as the Summer Olympic Games.

WNBA Standings 2021

1Connecticut Sun – x626.81315–112–311–59–1
2Las Vegas Aces – x8242.75013–311–411–56–4
3Minnesota Lynx – x10224.68813–310–59–77–3
4Seattle Storm – x11215.65611–59–610–68–2
5Phoenix Mercury – x13197.5947–96–912–45–5
6Chicago Sky – x161610.5006–1010–510–66–4
7Dallas Wings – x181412.4387–97–87–93–7
8New York Liberty – x201214.3757–96–95–115–5
9Washington Mystics – e201214.3758–87–84–124–6
10Los Angeles Sparks – e201214.3758–82–134–121–9
11Atlanta Dream – e24818.2504–126–94–124–6
12Indiana Fever – e26620.1884–124–112–142–8

WNBA 2021 Schedule

Sept. 23Dallas Wings vs. Chicago Sky8 p.m.ESPN2
New York Liberty vs. Phoenix Mercury10 p.m.ESPN2
Sept. 26TBD vs. Seattle Storm3 p.m.ABC
TBD vs. Minnesota Lynx5 p.m.ESPN2
Sept. 28TBD vs. Connecticut Sun8 p.m.ESPN2
TBD vs. Las Vegas Aces10 p.m.ESPN2

What is the format of the WNBA playoffs 2021?

  • The WNBA playoffs 2021 will feature eight teams, with their seedings determined by their regular-season records.
  • The top two seeds will go to the semifinals bye, while the third and fourth seeds will advance to the second-round bye.
  • Single elimination is used in the first and second rounds, while best-of-five series are used in the semifinals and WNBA Finals.
  • In those series, the higher seeds will host Games 1, 2, and 5, while the lower seeds will host Games 3 and 4.
  • After each playoff round, teams will be re-seeded.

More about Women’s National Basketball Association

The WNBA stands for Women’s National Basketball Association and it is an American professional basketball league. There are presently twelve clubs in the league. The league began to play in 1997 after being formed on April 22, 1996, as the women’s equivalent to the National Basketball Association (NBA). The regular season runs from May to September, with the All-Star game taking place in July (except in Olympic years) and the WNBA Finals taking place at the end of September and into early October.

Plans to conduct a midseason event, the Commissioner’s Cup, beginning in the 2020 season have been put on hold because of the COVID-19 epidemic. Originally, regular-season Cup games were scheduled to go until early July, with a final match scheduled for August. The epidemic also resulted in the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida, being devoid of fans for the full 2020 season.

Below are the WNBA’s five teams that play in the same venue as their NBA counterparts:

  1. Los Angeles Sparks
  2. Indiana Fever
  3. New York Liberty
  4. Minnesota Lynx
  5. Phoenix Mercury

Despite of the fact that the four of the seven (the Dream, the Mystics, the Sky, and the Wings) share a market with an NBA counterpart, the following do not share an arena with a direct NBA counterpart:

  • The Atlanta Dream
  • Connecticut Sun
  • Chicago Sky
  • Dallas Wings
  • Las Vegas Aces
  • Seattle Storm
  • Washington Mystics.

While the two (the Mystics and Dream) play in NBA Development League arenas, and the Storm shared an arena and market with a WNBA team.

Furthermore, all of the following are privately owned:

  • the Dream
  • the Sky
  • the Sun
  • the Wings
  • the Aces
  • the Sparks
  • the Storm.

The Aces are owned by the same person that owns an NFL franchise (Mark Davis of the NFL team in the same market).